My Summer Bucket List: A Seasonal Separation

I’m breaking the mold.

Normally I’d bring you poetry or a story or some perhaps lightly too-subverted philosophy hidden in shoes.

But today is not only Sunday but exactly a week before I get to go home for the summer! 

I haven’t started packing, in fact, right now I’m sat with my elbows resting on a mind map of free will and determinism trying to decide what I believe in for my exam tomorrow. Also thinking that I already have too many thoughts floating around my head as the green tea kicks in and another beautiful day shines through my window…if only I could get internet at the park!

What I have decided is a list of things I’m going to do this summer:

It starts with a complicated question:

Deciding where my heart belongs. 

I work full time over summer, or a I like too so that leaves my end of summer savings with two options. I buy a car and drive off into the countryside with a new found year-long freedom or I buy a return plane ticket for a month in Canada exploring places I’ve always wanted to see in an environment I’ve heard rumor is utterly friendly! Snow Sports and Smiley faces or Picnics and a whole two years of adventure.

So From there it begins…

Me, Myself and I

  1. I’m going to grow my hair out! Ever had that daydream where you’re running through a cornfield field your long blonde hair flickering around alongside your flowing dress, bangles harmonizing with the birds and crickets in the sunset? No? just me then. I live in a place of great natural beauty and I am determined that one day soon I will resist another bob cut and let my golden blonde hair return to some natural (or assisted…for those of us with poker straight hair) beach-waved glory.
  2. I’m taking up meditation. I do it every summer, but this year I want to meditate outside of my room. In a field, on a hill, heck even on a quiet road if the mood should take me.
  3. Looking outwards I also want to do something good. Living in a city has made me realize a lot, every day I walk past a homeless person or see stray animals and it makes me sad to live in a world where those in power do nothing about it. So I’m going to do something. Even if that means buy a single sandwich and giving it to a homeless guy or calling animal protection to help a stray cat, I might even try and find time between work to help out an old-person. Who knows, but I am writing it down to know that I will!
  4. From helping out others to helping around my own house. I’m about to turn an age I want to hide from, I already have a lot of responsibilities but that also means I feel responsible to help out at home. From cleaning to painting to helping my grandparents with their gardening I’m going to have the time to give something back.

 

Dora The Explorer said what about me? There is room in this town for the both of us!

So this is my adventure section and it all depends on a few things. First, Whether or not I’m getting a car. If I do then hey Scotland! If not then it’s still looking pretty fun. But here’s what I’m hoping:

  1. Seeing a concert in Manchester. My Best friend and one of my awesome guy friends both live in Manchester and despite regular visits exploring the beautiful north quarter and restaurants I’ve never seen a band there. But this time it gets serious, I’m helping my friend meet someone…I love new people so this may be my most exciting challenge yet!
  2. Going to the train station and choosing a destination on the day, with my trusty adventure backpack. Even if it’s jsut an hour down the road I want to see as many new places as possible; days off are rare and I’m certain even though I’ve seen everywhere withing a 15 mile radius there are places I have yet to explore. Nottingham, Liverpool or even further afield to somewhere like brighton or up north to yorkshire for the day!
  3. Picnicking in the remote countryside. I have a vision of driving into the countryside, vintage red convertible making a vroom as my headscarf flips about in the wind and a handsome man in a sweater and shirt is sat next to me…now I’m being realistic when I say there is little to no chance of this happening. I am more like to get a bus to the nearest remote village and walk until I find a field with a patterned picnic box rather than the wicker one with polka dot inside of my dreams. I’m also probably going to take a book instead of a person…why waste a nice day risking someone ruining your peace with the speakers you didn’t realize they brought.
  4. Beekeeping. From the people I know who call me bee to those who have only briefly met me, most know that one day I want to be a beekeeper. I love honey bees, from their work ethic to their defense within the hive and the instant karma of their attack. So this summer I aim to find somewhere that will let me try it out. There will be pictures of myself with a smile bigger than a beekeeping helmet!
  5. Visiting a stately home. I’m still young but I love history. Since the age of 15 when I went to Castle Howard in Yorkshire I have loved stately homes. I love the random artifacts old houses would collect in days long ago, their origins and finding the people who can tell me the stories!

 

‘Let’s go out late, drink a lot, stay up past ten and then dance, dance all night. Leave our boyfriends behind’

This one is simple, even though my hometown is small, most of my best friends are staying where they now live for summer. So I’m going to make new friends, say hello to old acquaintances and have the sort of nights that you’d usually want to end on a beach as the sun rises. Saying hi to people isn’t that hard and once you find a common ground the world is your oyster. I am separated from all that’s familiar but that’s an opportunity!

 

I’m going to run a marathon, but first:

  1. I must, I must, I must improve my…erm, fitness?! Last summer I was making a 6-minute mile on the treadmill and despite the current odd attempt to run I’m in slightly less shape presently. On the bright side if you carried a doughnut in front of me, I would not move faster…you’d need a yoghurt!
  2. Eating like a lean mean running machine…well, not literally! If I ate like a running machine I would be living off dust so I’m going to exist on fruit, vegetables and a lovely amount of lean meat.
  3. A small amount of weight loss, a lot of toning and a more optimistic disposition from all those lovely endorphin’s.
  4. The conclusion. By the end of summer I really am hoping to be half-marathon ready, but it’s going to be hard work. I can do this!

 

You ordered what off Etsy? Ooops.

I’m a terrible shopper. That’s all there is too it but lately I’ve been really good so today I bought some new brown cowgirl boots and a bumblebee necklace to go with a green bohemian dress…It may have been a lot but I still spent under £30 so I’m proud.

This section is less a bucket list of what I want but what I want to achieve with what I do get.

  1. Buy my mum something she can keep for however long forever is, because she did the same for me. For my 19th Christmas my amazing mum brought me a teardrop necklace that is just beautiful. I literally never take it off. So with part of my savings this summer I want to return the favour. Not necessarily with jewelry but something beautiful, vintage or even hand-crafted that will last.
  2. Get my belly button pierced. For a while I’ve been self-conscious about my body. It’s time to stop that and to do so I’m going to accessorize. It’s less about the thing I buy and more about what it’s going to stand for. I will get my abs back some day but for now I am content with all the hard-work I have put in to get a flat tummy and I want to wear a crop top, just for one day, even if it’s in a new place.
  3. Find something entirely me. When you’re snowed under with work it’s something easy to shop and maintain a status-quo, buy what everyone else buys until one day you wake-up and realize you don’t look much different to everyone else. I have a strong love of vintage and really want a backpack or bracelet or even a hair slide, something I can use daily to remind me of something I love that makes me smile.

 

Where Did I put my Paint Brushes? and Why are my books so dusty?

Do I need to say anymore? My kimono wants to be involved in something beautiful and creative and heck, so do I! In with the dungarees and headbands, out with the suits and stilettos…unless I’m painting something tall.

  1. I want to alter or tie-dye everything in my wardrobe I don’t love but still want. By the end of this summer I want a select amount of things that I love entirely from fit to colour.
  2. I want to build something. Whether it be putting up some shelves or making one of the many things on my Pinterest boards. It’s time to persuade my grandpa to let my use his tool box!
  3. Painting! I want to paint a canvas as a present for someone. And then another for the wall in my very first house next year!
  4. Baking a cake that looks like a book. Aside from working on my recipes I want to decorate a cake so it either has a book interwoven into its design or actually looks like a book.
  5. Finishing a book. I filter through text after text but never really read much. I’ve recently fallen in love with F.Scott Fitzgerald so my aim is to inhale one of his works.
  6. Finally, I want to write. About each and every one of the above things to share with you lovely bloggers what I have achieved and done, not just for myself but to inspire you to make the most of every moment. To Summer and beyond!

 

I must now depart, back to the literal drawing board of my work, this interlude putting that little extra curve to my handwriting. A week, that’s it, and I’m free…or am I? 

 

Happy Sunday my dearest bloggers, 

Daisy x 

Leave a Reply

